Emmaus Borough Council 2018

Pictured from left to right:  Council Vice President Chris DeFrain, Councilwoman Teri Sorg-McManamon, Councilwoman Shana Baumgartner, Mayor Lee Ann Gilbert, Council President Brent Labenberg, Councilman Wesley Barrett, Councilman Jeff Shubzda, and Councilman Roy Anders.


Borough Council is the legislative body of the Borough. It is comprised of seven members, each elected at large for four-year overlapping terms. After each general municipal election (i.e. every two years), Borough Council is reorganized and a Council President is selected from among members to preside over Council meetings and other events. In addition, during the biennial organizational meeting, members elect among themselves a chairman and vice-chairman for the following committees: Budget & Finance, Community Relations/Development Committee, Health, Sanitation & Conservation Committee, General Administration Committee, Parks & Recreation, Public Safety, and Public Works. The primary duties of Borough Council include adoption of the annual budget, the establishment of policies for the conduct of Borough affairs, the enactment of ordinances and resolutions for the protection of the public's safety and welfare, and approval of contracts and bids. Furthermore, Council’s responsibilities include the appointment of the Borough Manager and other respective officials, along with members of various municipal boards and commissions.

Position Name Name/Email Address Term Term Expires
Mayor Lee Ann Gilbert                      gilbert@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council President Brent A. Labenberg                labenberg@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council Vice President Chris DeFrain                         defrain@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Council Member Roy D.Anders Jr.                    anders@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council Member Wesley R, Barrett                   barrett@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Council Member Shana L. Baumgarnter           baumbartner@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council Member Jeff Shubzda                          shubzda@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Council Member Teri Sorg-McManamon          mcmanamon@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020